(Me, Myself and I Podcast Episode 18 Show Notes) 

Self Recognition – Are you getting enough?

By: Anthony Hayes


I know very little about blogging, podcasting, and being a father. All of which I’ve only been doing for a years time. What I do know is that I have challenged myself each day to learn as much as I can about these endeavors and many others.

“I practiced all day yesterday for the challenges I will face tomorrow.” -A.Hayes

If your anything like me, you’ve probably got a lot on your plate. And it may seem like you get very little accomplished. Your missing a sense of gratification, confidence. Well look no further. Today we are going to recognize three things:

  1. Accomplishments
  2. Achievements
  3. Milestones

To do this I used the App “Evernote” to make a list compromised of checkboxes and bullet-points. Very basic, very simple. It is a great task management tool with endless capability and functionality.

The Challenge

The point is to make it something you can visualize. Use a pen & paper if you please. Make it concrete by writing it down or making any type of a list.

Now this list can be as detailed as you want or just a bunch of words only you can comprehend. It can be categorized or even in chronological order if that helps.

This exercise can be done as often as you’d like. May it be weekly, monthly, every 6 months, or in my case, at the end of a long, difficult, adventurous year. I recommend letting some time lapse so as to build a solid foundation.

If you ever get discouraged or down on yourself that would be an ideal time to do this. This idea came to me as I was walking my Siberian Husky Luna.

I watched the sun reflect off the lake after a moment of feeling overwhelmed and defeated.

Do this and you will be amazed by all you’ve accomplished!

I stopped took a breath and momentarily set aside my to-do list. It wasn’t an excercise or my intention to do this. It wasn’t a practice I’ve ever done before. However going forward it is now something I will continue to do whenever I’m feeling STUCK. 

I don’t claim to have knowledge or insight on much. Nor do I feel I have better or worse than anyone else. 

Here is my list for notable life events that I found significance in:

 Began fatherhood
  •  My baby boo
 Writing “Science”
  • 20k words + and counting
  •  Learned how to format a book for publishing
 Learned about podcasting
 Started a podcast
  •  Upgraded equipment
  •  Upgraded software
  •  Learn how to produce/edit
  •  Recorded first interview
  •  Wrote show notes
  •  Attended hangouts
  •  Took tutorial course
  •  Obtained introduction song approval
 Built a website (a little prior experience)
  •  Learned about SEO
  •  Implemented SEO
  •  Hosted email
 Started two blogs
  •  Attended blog webinars/hangouts
  •  Transferred blog hosting sites
 Became admin for online community
  • 150 members
  •  Wrote mission statement
  •  Made weekly schedule
  •  Made a monthly challenge 
  •  Made worksheets for challenge 
  •  Assistant admin for a second online community 

As you can see it’s not a very long list. When broken down into its many components the list is much more in depth. I’m sure there are things I’m forgetting but that’s not the point of this exercise. 

It’s not a competition. It’s not a sprint. It’s a life-long commitment of self-discovery and continual growth. 

“Giving up on your dreams is giving up on yourself. Don’t give up!” -A. Hayes

If you would like a worksheet of your own I’d be glad to email you one in your preferred format. Such as Google documents or just plain word or rtf. file. Leave a brief list in the comments section to get started. 

Good luck with your next big thing. As you can see you’ve already done so much. Don’t stop now, keep stretching, keep growing and most importantly KEEP ON FLOWING!

“Control the controllable, as for the rest Keep on flowing…Just be.”

website | facebook twitter | email | itunes | stitcher | spreaker

One thought on “Self Recognition – Are you getting enough?

Leave a comment